2nd Special Town Election Information

As you may be aware, the Town is facing unprecedented times with two vacancies on the Board of Town Commissioners. The vacancy is first due to the resignation effective June 24th of Commissioner Kai Bernal-LeClaire to take a job opportunity out of state, and the second due to the sudden passing of Commissioner Wanda Leonard on June 30th. A special election had already been scheduled for July 27th to fill Commissioner Bernal-LeClair’s seat, however, due to the tight restrictions of the Town Charter, the timeline did not allow for us to have just one special election to fill both vacancies. This caused the Town to schedule two separate Special Elections to elect one Commissioner each.

While one election is completed, results here, there is still a 2nd election scheduled for Monday, August 10th, 2020. Polls are open from 1PM until 8PM at Town Hall located at 14211 School Lane Upper Marlboro MD 20772. 

The Town will be following strict CDC guidelines to prevent the spread of COVID-19. All voters will be temperature-screened at the door, and social distancing and masks are required while in the polling place.

2nd Special Election Candidates: 
Bryan A. Bontrager
Janice Duckett

2020_Cand-statements_Sample Ballot_2020 2ND SpecElect_CLR_Page_1

If you do not feel comfortable voting in-person, we encourage you to complete the application for an absentee ballot so that you can vote from the comfort and safety of your home. PLEASE SUBMIT AN ABSENTEE BALLOT REQUEST ASAP!

Click Here: Absentee Ballot Request Form

Am I eligible to Vote?
All registered voters who live within the Town limits of the Town of Upper Marlboro (NOT the zip code or "greater Upper Marlboro) can vote in Town elections. Elm Street, Main Street, Rectory Lane, Church Street, Spring Branch Drive, Marlborough Towne HOA, Old Mill Road, Old Crain Highway, Old Marlboro Pike, or Trinity Lane, you reside within the Town limits and can vote! 

Questions or Concerns? Contact the Town Clerk at Clerk@UpperMarlboroMD.gov or by phone at 301-627-6095 ex1102. 

Town Election Legislation:
Town Charter
Town Election Ordinance