Enter Search Terms   

Elected Officials

The Town of Upper Marlboro provides many services to its residents, including police, maintenance, and trash collection, under the leadership of the Board of Town Commissioners and a dedicated staff. 


The Commissioners are elected by the residents of the Town for a two-year term every even year on the first Monday in January that is not a holiday. The president is selected by a majority vote of the Board after the election. 

The form and functions of the Town government are set by the Town’s Charter. You can read the Charter at the following link Town of Upper Marlboro Charter. For more information contact the Town Clerk, at (301) 627-6905 or clerk@uppermarlboromd.gov.

The current Board of Town Commissioners for the Town of Upper Marlboro were elected into office on January 8, 2018. They serve the Town residents on a two-year term. 

Kai Bernal-LeClaire

Commissioner Bernal-LeClaire and his family have lived in Upper Marlboro since 2017. He served on active duty in the Navy as a Judge Advocate for eight years and continues to serve as a reservist while working as a Navy civilian. Read More

Linda Pennoyer

Commissioner Linda Pennoyer also serves as the Town Treasurer, overseeing Town Finances. This is Commissioner's Pennoyer's second term as a Commissioner. She serves on the Town Historical Committee and Marlborough Area Recreation Council. Read More

Mayor/President Wanda Leonard

President/Mayor Leonard is one of the Town's first African American Commissioners elected in January 2018. She was She also serves as the President of the Greater Upper Marlboro CERT Team and is a graduate from the County Citizen Police Academy. Read More