Enter Search Terms   

Board of Commissioners

The Town of Upper Marlboro provides many services to its residents, including police, maintenance, and trash collection, under the leadership of the Board of Town Commissioners and a dedicated staff. Commissioners Linda Pennoyer and Wanda Leonard currently represent the Town as the elected Town Commissioners with Commissioner Wanda M. Leonard, serving as President/Mayor of the Board of Town Commissioners.


The Commissioners are elected by the residents of the Town for a two-year term every even year on the first Monday in January that is not a holiday. The president is selected by a majority vote of the Board after the election. The next election will be held in January 2020 with voting to take place at Town Hall. Candidates for the Board must have resided in the Town for at least two years before the election, be a qualified voter of the Town, and be at least 25 years of age and be a resident of the Town.

The form and functions of the Town government are set by the Town’s Charter. You can read the Charter at the following link Town of Upper Marlboro Charter. For more information contact the Town Clerk, at (301) 627-6905 or clerk@uppermarlboromd.gov.

2018/2019 Board of Town Commissioners:

  • Kai Bernal-Leclaire, Town Commissioner
  • Linda Pennoyer, Commissioner/Treasurer
  • Wanda Leonard, Mayor/President